JagExp

Classics Saloons Forum

Oil cooler

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Cglover Colin Glover
Rhos On Sea, Conwy c b c, UK   GBR
Has anyone fitted an oil cooler to a 2.4 litre mk2 ,and if so was it worth it? I know that all parts are readily available but I don't want to go to fit one if of no benefit. All I am trying to do is to make the car more suitable for motorway use at a constant speed rather than the pre motorway roads of the 1960's here in Britain. Thanks in anticipation, Colin.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Supporting Member <
scardini1 Avatar
scardini1 Gold Member Jim Moscardini
Great Mills, MD, USA   USA
1968 Triumph GT6 "Rocinante"
2003 Jaguar XKR "Kitty"
I have no experience with your engine, but I recently installed an oil cooler on a modified 2.0L GT6 MK2 engine. The cooler sits behind the front chassis rail so it doesn't get much direct air flow, but it doesn't impede flow to the radiator much either. Despite that, I recorded a 40+ degree temperature drop across the cooler's inlet and outlet ports. This was on a cool day. I haven't yet had a day warm enough to test summer conditions, but it does seem to make a difference.

Cglover Colin Glover
Thanks for your information, I will lookfurther into location suitability but there seems to be ample room as that is an excellent drop in temp. Best, Colin.

scardini1 Avatar
2003 Jaguar XKR "Kitty"